Chinese Chicken Shu Mai

I was inspired to try making Chinese Shu Mai after receiving yummy homemade Shu Mai from Madam. SL, also I got to use the Shu Mai microwavable tray that I bought from Japan Store.

Here is the recipe I got from mum

Chinese Chicken Shu Mai
Chinese Chicken Shu Mai

Ingredients :

  • 1 pack Round wonton skin
  • 250 gr ground chicken meat
  • 4 -5 medium shrimp (peeled, deveined, and diced into small pieces)
  •  1 medium shitake mushroom (diced into small pieces)
  • 1/2 tablespoon finely chopped fresh ginger
  •  1/2 stalk small size scallion (finely chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon  sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 table spoon of water
  • Carrot (finely chopped) for garnishing

Steps :

  1. Mix the chicken with other ingredients and seasonings and set aside in the fridge for 20 minutes.
  2. Place about a tablespoon of filling on wonton skin, gather up the sides and leave the center open. Garnish the top with some chopped carrot .
  3. Place a sheet of cloth or parchment paper before placing the Shu Mai to ensure them  did not stick on bamboo steamer.
  4. Steam in a bamboo steamer for about 25 minutes until the wrapper skin turn translucent. Serve hot.

DSC07459  DSC07460  DSC07461

I use the Shu Mai microwavable tray to enhance the Shu Mai shape and decided to steam using bamboo steamer instead of using microwave.

DSC07461  DSC07466  DSC07467

DSC07473  DSC07475  DSC07478

Tada… here is  steaming hot Chicken Shu Mai ala RCC🙂

Happy Friday all…

21 thoughts on “Chinese Chicken Shu Mai

  1. Delicious. I have not tried making shu mai with chicken only shrimp. I will have to give you version a try. We have Japan Homes stores here in HK too and I love them. I really will the 100 yen stores in Japan but this is the closest thing we have.

    • Yup the recipe is actually for pork and shrimp but since I only stock chicken so chicken it is🙂 Yes I found the Japan store have lots of unique things that is not common in our country and I really admire Japanese for always inventing things to make their life easier🙂

    • Thank you for liking the shumai🙂 This is the first time I make them and I am quite surprise of how easy they are, of course mine was not as pretty as those at the yumcha but who know probably one day I can made and host own personal yumcha at home🙂 (crossing finger and wishing upon the star that I have the patience and perseverance)😀

    • yes, the initial recipe from mum is using pork🙂 but I just make it with whatever ingredients I have. sorry to hear bout your extreme allergies (this is the first time I know someone with such extreme,some friends got red rashes only and they have to take a medicine before eating shrimp , it give them some skin problem but never deadly). Anyway there are still lots of plenty delicious things to eat so you won’t miss much and for sure you don’t have to worry about cholesterol level (which was quite high on shrimp)🙂 Cheers

  2. Pingback: Chinese Chicken Shu Mai | K-Bunny

Leave a Reply

