Bento # 148 – Lions bento

This year I did not managed to  make any bento with the Chinese New Year theme, so to compensate my lack of creative I decided to deconstruct the Chinese New Year cakes into bento.

The Lion’s heads  were of roll cake decorated with cheese, while for the body I use marble cake (I love how the texture of the marble cake looks perfect for the lion’s body and the paws , especially the Lion at the bottom part) .

Those stripes looks cakes were Kue Lapis (aka Layered Cake)  is one of the most to have cake for Chinese New Year and a quite popular cake in Indonesia. It tooks lots of time and effort to bake the cakes layer by layer.

I choose and cut  the different color/darker layer of the  layered cake to make the facial expression of the Lions.

Bento # 148 - Lion bento

Bento # 148 – Lions bento

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR ALL

Wish you a prosperous and blessed Snake Year Ahead.

Gong Xi Fa Cai…

Xin Nian Kuai Le…

15 thoughts on “Bento # 148 – Lions bento

  1. Happy New Year! Wishing you and your loved ones a good year ahead!

    so creative! this is kuah lapis right? its popular amongst some folks here too, my boss actually spent 5 hours to make it at home!😛

  2. I am always amazed when I click over to your blog and see these little lunch box figures you make.🙂

    Hey thanks Rabbit for the visit to my blog, Savor the Food. I hope you are able to enjoy any one of those rice recipes. They should be a delight to your pallet.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

