Bubur Ketan Hitam (Black Glutoniuos Rice Dessert)

My mum always make sweet dessert as  our snacks on the weekend and I grow up liking and associate them as my comfort food. Today I am sharing one of my fave sweet dessert, bubur ketan hitam.

Bubur ketan hitam   is the Indonesia name for Black Glutinous Rice Deesert , literally is translated as : Black Glutinous porridge. And this type of sweet dessert can be find easily in many South East Asia countries, it have several different names and cooked in a rather similar way.

Ingredients :

  • 250 gr black glutinous rice
  • 2 liter water
  • 100 g sugar (to taste)
  • pinch of salt
  • pandan leaves , tied into a knot
  • Coconut milk : 150 ml coconut milk + some pandan leaves  ,cooked with with 1/4 tsp salt until simmer, set aside to cool.

Steps :

  1. Rinse the black glutinous rice until the water is clear.
  2. Boil water with pandan leaves  a pinch of salt  over high heat and when the water starts steaming, add glutinous rice.
  3. Lower the heat to medium heat and cook for about 60 – 90  minutes uncovered until the grains started to break and water started to thicken. You may add water from time to time to adjust the thickness of the mixture (different heat can resulted to different result of mixture thickness).
  4. Remove the pandan leaves and add sugar to taste, simmer for another 15 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat and let cool.
  6. Serve warm with coconut milk.

Black Glutinous rice dessert

Glutionous rice dessert with coconut milk

This is actually my 2nd attempt in making them,and the recipe above had been modified to get the result as shown at the photos.

The first time I fail because I use the wrong type of black rice  and did not add more water , resulted to glutinous sticky rice instead of the smooth porridge like shown at the photo.

12 thoughts on “Bubur Ketan Hitam (Black Glutoniuos Rice Dessert)

    • Not sure about HK, but here I sometimes find them at the vegetable chiller section in the supermarket and of course they are abundant in wet market. I heard Asian grocery in some country sell the frozen version, might be worth to check? My mum have the plant at her balcony, they grow in pot, in the case if you ever spotted the plant, you should grab and grow them 🙂 Worst case is to use the pandan essence 🙂 Sorry for not able to help 😦

      • I will continue to look for the imported ones in the frozen food section but maybe my best option is pandan essence as I need this for many different dishes. Thanks for your help. Take care, BAM

      • Hi BAM, I hope you will be able to get them, so sorry can’t be of any help. Last time I check, most international shipment from Indonesia do not accept shipment of food stuff. But if you happen to have any friends who are visiting Jakarta, you can drop me a note and I can get some for them to bring back to you 🙂

  1. That looks delicious, it’s quite hard to find white glutinous rice here so I’m sure I’ll never be able to try this!

    I’m really jealous that you can easily get Pandan too!
    I love the taste of it and would love to make a chiffon cake with it but it’s difficult to get here!

    -Pepper

    • Ooh sorry to hear that glutinous rice is hard to find. How about try to check the dessert at local chinese restaurant? My overseas friend sometimes try their luck to ask the out of menu dish they craving to eat, and quite often the restaurant can find provide it upon appointment or next visit.
      And yes, pandan chiffon is the best, can you find pandan paste or pandan essence there?

      • I will have a look at the Chinese restaurants!

        Most of them over here have very westernised food and I can imagine just getting a blank stare haha!

        I haven’t seen the paste or essence, I have managed to find some leaves very expensively but nothing else!

        I sooo want to try that cake!

        Making me jealous once again rabbit!!!! 😛

        -Pepper

      • Hahaha… its worth to try, you may never know 🙂 I think you may order the paste or essence online. I hope you will be able to get them and make you pandan cake 🙂 Sorry can’t be of any help here, I tried to send some food stuff to friends but even DHL have a policy for not accepting food stuff so I can’t send it over to you 😦

  2. Yum! I can definitely try this; I can easily buy the ingredients here, yey! We also have a different version, champorado or chocolate rice porridge ^^

Leave a Reply

