Bento # 102 – October pink ribbon bento

October is the month of Breast Cancer Awareness. The international health campaign aims to bring attention to Breast Cancer Awareness Month, get people talking about breast cancer, and raise money for research. I come from a family with cancer history  therefore I know how important it is to create an awareness about this cancer disease.

I am making a bento in the pink ribbon theme as my  way to participate in this campaign.

Bento # 102 – October pink ribbon bento

I mixed rice with denbu to get the pink rice bed and  shape a little white flower from steam rice. For the leaves I mixed small portion of rice with steamed brocoli + a little salt (which had been cut into fine pieces). Side dish : Seared short ribs, coktail shrimps and tamagoyaki with pork floss.

This is the first time I use food coloring because I could not find a right ingredient for the pink ribbon, however I kind of forgot to separate the egg yolk from the white , hence red coloring + yellow yolk resulted to a rather orange ribbon instead of pink. Nevertheless it was the intention that matter🙂

Friends please encourage all women that you know to do a monthly self breast exam to spread this awareness.

Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

