Thai Candied Cassava (aka Man-ted Chuame)

There was a Thai festival in the nearby mall last weekend and it had  all about Thailand theme with various range of vendors and activities . The one that attracted me the most of course will be the food section, they have some  famous Thai restaurant putting booths and sell foods and those booths were swamps by dozens of people which eventually discouraged me to participate and buy (I don’t really like to squeeze in a crowd or wait for a long time to be serve) 😦

Anyway to cut it short, because of the festival I develop a sudden crave of Thai Candied Cassava so I decided to make my own. Upon browsing for recipe, I found that most of blog post the same cooking time for the cassava which is approx 2 hours. Hmmm … could it be the real case or probably the recipe was origin from just one source? Anyway no harm to try and I happen to be able to found the supermarket selling Cassava (though I don’t know what is the right criteria in choosing good cassava) , so Cassava, coconut milk and sugar, that’s all I need, everything is set.

I decided to try the recipe from Appon’s Thai Food , she have many range of Thai recipe in her blog.

And below were the photos of my cooking result  (personally I love and can’t resist sweets with coconut milk) so I add the coconut milk cream from other recipe. I also found that after cooking for 1 hour the water start to dry while cassava still quite firm and not candied enough so I add another 1 /2 cup of water and 100 gr sugar on top of the origin recipe from Appon.

This is the final result… Yum…

Thai Candied Cassava with Coconut milk

Below please find the copy paste of recipe and how to from Appon’s blog.

Ingredients  for 4 People

500 gms Cassava
300 gms Sugar ( I add another 100 gr of sugar )
250 ml Water ( I add another 1/2 cup of water)

Preparation
1. Mix sugar with water in a sauce pan, heat until the sugar dissolves.
2. Peel the cassava and chop it into 4cm pieces.
3. Add the cassava into the pan with boiling sugar and cook on a low heat until the sugar just begins to caramelize. Approximately 2 hours.
4. If the cassava has not been properly candied, add more water and continue cooking.

Optional coconut milk cream – from http://www.cookasianfood.com/thailand/thai-dessert-candied-cassava-root/

1/2 Cup Coconut Milk
1/4 Tsp Salt

Put the coconut cream and salt into a small pan and bring to the boil over a medium heat. Remove from the heat and pour a little over the Candied Cassava

Leave a Reply

