Banana Fritter (aka : Pisang goreng)

Banana Fritter

2 reasons why I made  banana fritter for today afternoon snack

  1. Mum received  plenty of fresh banana from her friend and when I visited her on the weekend I help myself  and brought few pieces  back.
  2. A friend of mine brought me the similar banana fritter snack last weekend  (thank’s to Ms. Ladyrein for the snack) and it reminded me to the long forgotten snack.

This fritter is very simple to make, basically just cut the banana into 2 pieces, brush with a little corn flour, dip into beaten egg and then roll on panko breadcrumbs.

Deep fried until golden brown and serve with caramel sauce or kaya jam or any sauce of your liking or you can just consume them as what they are.

Notes :

  • The only thing I would like to note here is : It is highly recommended to use this type of banana : Pisang Kepok  (Pisang = Banana, Kepok = is the name of the banana). I don’t know the name in English, this type of banana (pisang Kepok)  is very popular in Indonesia, either for banana fritter  (pisang goreng) or banana dessert (kolak pisang).
  • I forgot to take the  fresh pisang Kepok photo  , below picture was the one I google from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Kepok_banana_Indonesia.JPG the banana might look a bit ugly and not as nice as those other  yellow banana, but believe me , they taste good.

Mum said this type of banana is  good diabetic diet   as it is not too sweet and contain less sugar.  She love to consume this banana for breakfast and her cooking preference is steam. She will steam it for about 15 minutes until the skin turn brown and the meat soften.

Well…this bring back another memory of  childhood’s food/snack.

2 thoughts on “Banana Fritter (aka : Pisang goreng)

  1. This recipe sounds delicious and so simple! All the other recipes I’ve found online have been complicated. But I’m just wondering, in Australia we have lady finger bananas, they are the smaller ones which are widely available, would they be the same, or similar to yours? I’ve wanted to make this version of banana fritter for about 2 years! As I ate them in the small village on pulau kecil in the Perhentians, Malaysia. I’ve never forgotten!

    • I am not sure on the lady finger bananas, might not be the same. Indonesia and Malaysia share lots of commonness in food and ingredients so for sure I believe the one you ate must be the same one as mine. By the way thank you for stopping by and liking my blog🙂

Leave a Reply

