Ayam goreng mentega (aka : Butter and Worcestershire Sauce Chicken)

Few bloggers friends and personal friends whom had been following my blog had been asking this question “why I only post Bentos and  no new recipe post lately?”.

Well I was kind of occupied with works for the last few weeks  and currently I am in the midst of moving to a new place so some of my cooking utensils had been packed. I only keep my Bento tools and some basic utensils with me at this old place.

Hopefully I can get back to my cooking routine once I settled down in new place.

Since today  is Sunday and the weather was just too hot for me to go out I decided  to stay at home and cook.

Ayam goreng mentega in Bahasa means butter fried chicken ( ayam = chicken, goreng  = fried, mentega = butter) and this is a classic standard dish you can find in the common Chinese eatery place. Though butter is used in the cooking yet the main ingredients of the sauce are oyster and Worcestershire sauce.

Ayam goreng mentega

Ingredients :

  • 1 whole chicken, cut into 8 pieces, rubbed with a little salt.

Ingredients (sauce) :

  • 2 tablespoon  butter/margarine
  • 2 table spoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 table spoon oyster sauce
  • 1 table spoon soya sauce
  • 1 table spoon sweet soya sauce
  • 1 table spoon lemon juice (optional)
  • 1 tea spoon sugar
  • Pepper to taste
  • 2 table spoon water
  • 1 table spoon water mix with corn starch (optional)

Steps :

  1. Deep fried the chicken with vegetable oil until the skin is crisp and color turn to golden brown, set aside. (I like to melt another 2 table spoon of butter/margarine to get the richer butter taste)
  2. Melted butter or margarine in a skillet , add the rest of other sauces and mix well (add the corn starch liquid the last and only if you prefer a thicker sauce, otherwise you may skip this)
  3. Let sauce simmered for 30 seconds and then stir in the fried chicken, stir until chicken are coated with sauce.
  4. Serve while still hot.

Notes :  A little out of topic, finally I had decided to only post my blog with photo of the final  cooked dish instead of the step by step photos as usual. I had been rather clumsy recently,  just last month I dropped my blackberry into water and ruined it entirely, had to get myself a new phone.

Then today when I was taking the photo of my chicken in the frying process, I almost drop the camera into the fryer… phew… almost…though no damage occurred and  I still have my beloved camera, I had decided to avoid the risk of really ruining it.

So no more step by step photo, in the case if any of you have questions on the steps,  please ping me or email me separately at rabbitcancook@gmail.com.

Cheers

RCC

Leave a Reply

