Pasta # 04 : Spicy Tuna Spaghetti

Today is Valentine day,  though  I am not someone who  will go all the way to celebrate this “love declaration day” yet I am inspired to cook something  with Valentine theme for  lunch and Bento.

I spotted a can of tuna in chilli tomato sauce that I bought last weekend and decided to make a spicy tuna pasta. Spicy??? some of you might think that it is not the right food for the romantic occasion,  but then again it was not meant for a romantic candle light dinner and the reason why I choose this because I want to decorate my pasta with flowers made from cherry tomatoes (have them for almost a week and it turn out that I was rather busy last week and  don’t cook as often as usual so I am afraid they will get spoiled soon).

Ingredients :

  • Pasta of your liking (I am using spaghetti), cook al dente.
  • 1 can of spicy/hot tuna
  • 1/2 table spoon of chopped garlic
  • few pieces of shallot (sliced thinly)
  • 1-2 pieces of  red/green chilli (sliced thinly)
  • few cherry tomatoes (cut into small cubes)
  • few cherry tomatoes (peel the skin for tomato flowers)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Steps :

  1. Stir fry the shallot with some olive oil until translucent and fragrance.
  2. Add garlic and chilli stir for a while until garlic turn golden yellow and then add the tuna.
  3. Season with salt and pepper ,  add the diced tomatoes and let the them  simmer for a while and lastly  reduce the heat and toss in the pasta.
  4. Mix well and serve while still hot.

    

   

Tips : Since I only plan to eat small portion of this dish, I dish up the tuna in a separate container and only toss them proportionally with my pasta portion.

With this I can save and keep the rest of the tuna for eating at later time.

 

Leave a Reply

