Matcha/Green tea Doughnuts

I am doing some rearrangement in my kitchen and I found the unused matcha (green tea) powder from previous trip to Japan.

Been wondering what shall I do with them because they are for cooking purpose type, not the one for the drinking consumption.

And since I am too lazy to make something that need baking (green tea cakes/rolls),  I decided to settle and try the simple fried doughnuts that I learn by watching  Cooking with dog .

Ingredients : make about 10 – 12 pcs

Recipe from Cooking with Dog

  • 100 gr flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 table spoon baking powder
  • 2 table spoon milk
  • 1 table spoon melted butter
  • 2 table spoon sugar

For coating :

  • Matcha version : 1 table spoon caster sugar + 1/4 table spoon macha
  • Standard version : 1 table spoon caster sugar

Steps :

  1. Mix flour and baking powder
  2. Separately whisk egg and sugar, add milk then melted butter, whisk until all ingredients mixed well.
  3. Pour the egg mixture to the flour and mix with spatula to form a doughnut batter
  4. Set aside and leave the better for 15 minutes at room temperature before frying
  5. Deep fry a spoon of the dough until its color golden brown
  6. Set aside for cooling (have to really let the doughnuts cool for best coating result)
  7. Put sugar in plastic bag and then add few fried doughnuts inside and shake until all doughnut is coated with sugar
  8. Serve with tea or any beverages of your liking 🙂

   

   

Notes :
Do not be mislead with the numbers of the fried doughnuts in cooling rack, I made double portion to get more doughnuts 🙂

I add 1 tea spoon of buttermilk powder to the flour to enhance the flavor and it turn out nicely.

Yummy……… and I am glad that I can make use of my new Bento accessories to enhance the outlook of my doughnuts.

3 thoughts on “Matcha/Green tea Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

