Fried Stuffed Tofu

This recipe is the modification of a street snacks I ate  at Lamma island in  Hong Kong.

In the case if you are curios, just try to poke your head to any long queuing of any food seller in the island or check any other visitors who happen to have deep fried stuffed tofu in  bamboo skewer (that was my case, I spotted a girl with 2 skewers in her hand and that attract my curiosity so I poke and check to each street snack seller and found it). Unfortunately I did not take a photo of the stall.

The stall is very crowded and people eagerly line up to wait despite the unfriendly old lady who attended the stall.

The  tofu pocket was stuffed with  fish paste, and it taste really good. I found the idea to flip over the tofu inside out was very creative, the white part which was initially inside becoming the outside add to the crunchiness to the tofu and you don’t need to coat them with any coating or crumbs anymore. So I promise myself that I will try this method, so here I am.

I am too lazy to go by fish and make a fish paste so I substitute the fish paste with pork and shrimps.

Ingredients :

  • Few pieces of Fried Tofu pong (in Indonesian) or Tau Pok (as known in Singapore/Malaysia), cut each of them diagonally into 2 pieces.
  • 100 gr minced pork
  • 3 big prawns (chopped finely)
  • 1 Shitake mushroom (chopped finely)
  • 1 tea spoon chopped garlic
  • 1/2 table spoon chopped spring onions
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 table spoon corn flour
  • few finely chopped chilli (I substitute with dry peppercorn)
  • salt and pepper (to taste)

Steps :

  1. Cut the tofu and flip inside out
  2. Mix all other ingredients in the bowl and stir with spoon/chopstick until everything blend well.
  3. Scoop a spoon of the mixture in the pocket
  4. Deep fry until the color turn golden brown.

   

    

Leave a Reply

