Japanese Okonomiyaki

Okonomiyaki is Japanese savoury  pancake  containing a variety of ingredients.

It is another food that I fall in love through manga and anime. been hearing about it long long time ago, however not all Japanese restaurant  in my city served Okonomiyaki  (in the past, we only have hi-end Japanese restaurant at 5 stars hotels and Okonomiyaki is not among the list in the menu), only recently when the booming of Japanese fast food and other Japanese retail cafe, Okonomiyaki can be easily found.

The fun of eating Okonomiyaki is to cook it yourself, however those who sell Okonomiyaki in the city where I live, don’t have the cook it your own version. So upon getting myself at Japan , eating Okonomiyaki at the genuine Okonomiyaki place is one among the To do list.

My first time cooking Okonomiyaki was when I am at Osaka. And it turn out that Osaka style okonomiyaki is the predominant version of the dish, found throughout most of Japan.

In the pictures on Travel and Eating pages, you can see me trying to cook Okonomiyaki on teppan and metal spatulas. It was fun,  I can still recall fondly on how the nice waitress keep checking on my table to ensure I did not mess up with my Okonomiyaki as it was very obvious that I am a tourist and a beginner, she did offer to cook for me but I strongly refused and want to do it my own, so the lady told me what to do in sign language (I don’t speak Japanese and she don’t speak English).

Anyway enough about my babbling on how much I love the experience, let’s cook a real homemade Okonomiyaki.

I got this recipe from You Tube hosted by Cooking with Dog (click for details)

Ingredients : Batter

  • 100 gr Flour + 1/4 tea spoon baking powder
  • 140 cc Dashi stock ( mix 5 g Dashi powder with warm water)
  • 1 table spoon grated Yamaimo (Japanese Mountain Yam) -> I could not find this ingredients so I skip this and it turn out ok.
  • pinch of salt

Ingredients  : Others

  • 200 gr Cabbage (slice thinly)
  • 1 welsh Onion (slice thinly)
  • 4 shrimps (cut into 2)
  • 100 g fresh pork belly/bacon
  • a little of dried ebi/dried baby shrimps
  • beni syoga (pickled ginger) -> chopped finely
  • 2 eggs
  • 50 g boiled Tako (Octopus) -> I could not find this too, mine was without Octopus.

Toppings :

 

Steps :

1) Mix Flour , baking powder and Dashi stock to make a batter.

2) Put other ingredients (except the pork belly)to the batter   :  Cabbage, welsh onion, shrimps, dried ebi, beni syoga,  in the batter, add the eggs and mix well.

3) Heat a flat bottom pan over medium heat and drizzle with cooking oil.

4) Pour in the Okonomiyaki mixture, place pork belly on the top layer and cover with the excess batter.

5) Cover the pan with lid to ensure the Okonimiyaki cook well, flip to the other side and cook till the color turn golden brown.

6) Reduce the heat, add the Okonomiyaki sauce, mayonnaise and dried bonito flakes.

7) Eat while still hot.

   

   

   

Notes : You can use use the ready made Okonomiyaki sauce sell in supermarket , however since I could not find any then I Google and found few alternate recipes and I mix and match to get the one that match my taste bud.

1/4 cup ketchup + 1.5 table spoon Worcestershire sauce + 1/4 table spoon Dijon mustard + 2 table spoon sake + 1 tea spoon soy sauce + 3 table spoon brown sugar + 1 table spoon Mirin.

Combine all sauce ingredients in small saucepan and simmer for about a minute stirring constantly, remove from heat and cook to room temp.

The taste of the sauce is actually up to your liking, you may add more sugar or honey is they taste too tangy and in case if they are too sweet then add more soya sauce.

3 thoughts on “Japanese Okonomiyaki

  1. I am a fan of Japs manga too and yes this okonomiyaki scene comes quite often, esp if the author of the manga is Adaichi Mitsuru, all his/her manga always have the scene where students hang out for Okonomiyaki after school.
    LOL….

  2. Pingback: Bento (No.56) | SushiSushiBento

Leave a Reply

