Gyudon (Japanese beef rice bowl)

My first experience with Japanese beef rice bowl was “Yoshinoya”, the Japanese fast food chain which was set up in my country many years ago, it has been around for a while  then went bankrupt.

Recently Yoshinoya can be found again in many big malls , it  rejuvenate and re-enter the market with new images and said better quality.

Being curious with the crowded outlet every time I pass by and  regularly seeing their delivery man with motor bike in my living area  finally led me to one of their nearby outlet.

Well…I can say that it taste much better than I used to remember and the quality was much improved and  it taste  quite close and almost similar to those in  Japan outlets. I guess the franchisee had been implementing  good quality control.

Upon re-experience the Japanese beef rice bowl, I try to search for the recipe and  I found few good ones  and it turn out to be quite simple and easy to make.

I decide to do a little modification on the recipes to my liking and to match the ingredients that I can easily find in my country , in the case if you are interested below please find the details.

Ingredients : 

serves 2

 

200 gr thinly sliced beef (shabu-shabu type beef with a little fat)

1/2 medium size onion, sliced 0.5 cm width

5 gr ginger (grated)

3 table spoon soya sauce

1 table spoon sugar

2 table spoon mirin

100 ml water

1/2 table spoon granulated dashi

1/2 tea spoon Shichimi Togarashi (optional)

Cooked steam rice ( 2 bowls)

eggs (optional)

Steps :

1) Bring half a pot of water to boil, add the beef and stir for a while until the meat colors change to cooked (please not to not over cooked the beef)

2) Add soya sauce, sake, hon mirin, and sugar on saucepan over medium heat and stir until sugar dissolve and sauce started to dizzle, pour in the beef and stir for a while

     

3) Remove the beef

4) Reheat the sauce pan and add water and granulated dashi, then onion and grated ginger, cook until the sauce boil and onion soften.

5) Pour in the beef, stir for a while

6) Prepare a steam rice in a bowl and place the beef together with onion and sauce on top of the rice, add some veggie to add more color if you like.

Notes  :

I like to have my beef rice bowl sprinkle with Shichimi Togarashi and add  a medium cooked egg. So in the case if you are keen, you will need 1 egg for each bowl.

Cook the eggs in already boiled water for 1 minute, turn off the fire and let the eggs in the hot water for at least 15 minutes.

Then crack and placed the egg on top of the beef rice bowl.

Leave a Reply

