Taiyaki (Japanases fish shape cake)

I love eating Taiyaki, the hot waffle- like pastry stuffed with various ingredients such as azuki read bean paste,chocolate, cheese, or others. Been wanting to try making taiyaki ever since I saw a tutorial from Youtube,  but the challenge is to find the pan because using other similar pan in different shape  will lose the meaning of the name and won’t feel like Taiyaki, so when I spotted the fish shape pan at the least expected place, which is hardware store, I immediately add it to my cart.,

So today Taiyaki  was based on the recipe and how to from cookingwithdog. I always love the recipe from cookingwithdog, because the portion is just right for 1-2 person and the how to make video was really good quality and with clear cooking details.

Japanese Taiyaki

I substitute the red/white beans  filling with Kaya and peanut butter sauce and made my own cake flour (referred to information from internet )

Useful tips from my experience  :

  1. not to put too much filling into the batter, I try to put as much as the one I saw in the video, but the filling leaked out and ruin the fish shape (guess that my taiyaki pan might be in smaller size than the cookingwithdog).
  2. to make 1 cup cake flour : measure 1 cup all purpose flour then take out 2 tablespoon flour. Replace the 2 tablespoon flour  with  2 table spoon  cornstarch flour. Shift the flour and cornstarch together.

Below please find the copy paste of the recipe from cookingwithdog Youtube

Taiyaki batter :

  • 100 g cake flour
  • 2/3 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp Sugar
  • 1/2 egg (30g)
  • 100 ml water

Other details, please check the link above. Thanks.

19 thoughts on “Taiyaki (Japanases fish shape cake)

  1. I love Taiyaki!
    I wish I could afford one of these pans and could get them in a normal shop here!
    How much are they where you are?
    They’re quite expensive to send away for from England.

    -Pepper

    • Hi, I bought the taiyaki pan at IDR 140,000 (approx USD $14.7). Before I bought this pan, I had been eyeing to order one at Bento&Co, under kitchen section, they have a microwable taiyaki mold under USD 10, you may want to check it out :)

      • Hi there,

        Thank you for replying.

        Doesn’t sound like a bad price if you are going to be using it often!

        I will check out Bento & Co thank you =).

        I have seen the microwave ones but I’m not sure it would be that good taste wise plus I would feel very guilty about taking the lazy way out in the kitchen hehe.

        -Pepper

  2. What a great find. Ever since I saw the cooking with dog video, I too have been looking for one of these pan. There are microwave ones, but they aren’t really the same. Never thought to look in a hardware store.

    Your fish look delicious, thanks for sharing your recipe.

    • @Raven & @Pepperbento : I guess I am lucky to be able to find the pan, yeah agree with both of you that short cut microwave version won’t be the same, the fun is on the cooking part, anxiously checking whether the cake is cook and of course you got to smell it in real time :)

Leave a Reply

